blue is the color of longing

sabrina by sarah joyI found this lovely cyanotype by someone calling herself Sarah Joy one day.  It’s the same color of blue as the knit line I’m making to the sea.  Cerulean blue.  I love the transparency of the fabric like a jellyfish floating in the ocean…Today I knit from 8:30 – 9:30.  The sunset was exquisite–long streaks of teal and salmon pink.  I can’t do it justice with my cheap kodak camera so you’ll just have to imagine it.  A young, good-looking doctor sat down and talked with me for a while.  He told me about growing up with a developmentally delayed brother, the joys and challenges.  (I’ve just started a caregiving job)  A lovely trio of two guys and a gal came down the sidewalk and lingered, watching the sunset.  The woman’s name was Ariel, which means lion of God.  She did not remind me of a lion, with her large floppy hat and flowy skirt.  I rolled up the line at about 9:30 pm just as it started to get dark…it was still damp from yesterday’s soaking rain.

Tell me what you think...

