the most people knitting at the same time

1805 people knitting together in Kaohsiung, China

People often come up to me as I’m knitting and ask, “Are you trying to set a world record or something?”  So I decided to look up some knitting records in the Guinness Book of World Records just for fun.  My favorite is “Most People Knitting Simultaneously.”  1805 people gathered on December 3, 2011, in Kaohsiung, China to knit scarves for the elderly and low income people.  I just love the matching, psychedelic outfits!

For a long time, I’ve wanted to stage a “knit in” like this in D.C. to protest war in a feminist, nonviolent, and fresh way.

Tell me what you think...

