Harp

October 29 ice creamA laughing woman pulled up in her car.  She told me it is her birthday today, and she was so glad to see me knitting the line across the street.  I wished her happy birthday, and told her my birthday is in two weeks.  T. wished me happy birthday, said she wasn’t surprised I was a Scorpio, and asked if I wanted a So Licious icecream…She made my day!  It was around 55 degrees in the sun so it wasn’t too chilly for ice cream…

Another woman drove up, got out of her car and introduced herself.  She said that the knitting project was lovely and poetic, and that she had read about it in the paper, last year.  I asked her if she was a poet, and she said no, she played the harp.  “Your knit line is just a long harp string to me,” she said.  I love this image, it reminds me of this poem by Mechthild of Magdeburg, a 13th century mystic and nun, known for her ecstatic writing:

Effortlessly,
Love flows from God into man,
Like a bird
Who rivers the air
Without moving her wings.
Thus we move in His world,
One in body and soul,
Though outwardly separate in form.

As the Source strikes the note,
Humanity sings–
The Holy Spirit is our harpist,
And all strings
Which are touched in Love
Must sound.

E. came by with Buster, and as Buster sniffed around the base of the bench, E said, “he’s checking his mail.”  Later, E. said, “Well, Buster has gone on both ends of the bench now, that should be a sufficiency.”

Aria and Luna walked by on the other side of the street with their mom.  The mom told me that Aria was not allowed to come visit with me at the bench today because she had bit someone.  Big sister Luna also chimed in, “And she broke my backpack!”  Meanwhile, Aria yelled and protested her way up the hill…

A single dad named Chris who plays the trumpet and lives in Arlington dropped by.  He had a bag of snap pea crisps tucked under his arm.  He asked if I knew what Vine was and if it would be okay to snap some photos of the knit.  Apparently, Vine is an app on some phones that strings together photos to make a video.  He got all the way up the hill using the app, and then the program quit on him, so I wasn’t able to see it.  I think I jinxed it because I was impatient to roll up the line for the day, and had stopped knitting right when his program died.

C. came by right then with her dog Kit (from the post “Resilience”).  I walked down the hill with her on my way to reel the line in.  I asked if the antlered deer had attacked her dog this week…Thankfully, no.  (Last week, a buck lunged at her tiny dog.  C. jumped into the back of a stranger’s car, cradling her dog to get away…when she got back out of the car, the deer attacked again!  Lots of testosterone and small brain = bad combination.)  I told her about the ice cream treat today, and she said that a project like this one attracts that kind of energy.  I said, “I don’t do anything, I just show up…and that’s the hardest thing sometimes.”  She said, that’s just it.  It’s about letting go, and letting life happen.  To realize that it’s not about you…”

 

Tell me what you think...

