It’s a Wrap: Christo and Jeanne-Claude

“Wrapped Trees” by Christo and Jeanne Claude

[continuation of previously unpublished journal of my knit-to-the-sea from an old bus stop in Bellingham, WA, begun last May 1, 2012.]  

May 14, 2012

8:00-9:00 am
Still on skein number two!  The line has crested the hill and started going down the hillside.  Cars are slowing down and waiting for my permission again.  Maybe they’ve heard about the project.  G. came and sat with me a few minutes.  She walks 2 hours a day…It was pretty quiet.  I enjoyed talking to Art (who still has not introduced himself.)  He teaches Qigong.  He said he tries to avoid healing people except as a kickstart because he wants them to heal themselves through a regular practice…It made me think about the importance of our full participation in our cure, and time.  At the end of my sit, I got another gift.  A pile of rich, dark compost had fallen off a truck right in the middle of Taylor Ave.  At first, I said, “How tacky!”  Then I saw the gift for what it is–good soil for my garden which has been struggling terribly in depleted soil.  So I scooped up 4 pots worth.  Another sunny day…

3:30-4:30ish knit
The second sit was very uneventful.  A man with a leaf blower apologized for the dust.  People in cars went by grinning at me from ear to ear.  Some cars are still slowing down and asking my permission.  A mom pushed 3 children in a stroller up the hill with a wailing baby.  I met D.’s wife, C, and felt an instant connection.  D. sat on the bench a minute or two.  They’ve been on vacation in N. Carolina.

I’ve been thinking about the difference between Christo’s artwork and mine.  Christo claims his work is about beauty, joy, aesthetics and nothing else.  My piece is fraught with symbolism and “meaning” and has a title that is poetic rather than descriptive.  But I love and admire Christo and Jeanne Claude so.  I’ve been thinking of Christo as a Christ figure of sorts–it’s in the name.  Giving all for love.1597ca948ab084817c3107900adab15c

Tell me what you think...

