The In-Between Days

Bridge_2008_oil_on_canvas_16x12in


“Bridge” oil on canvas by Nicholas Nyland.  I just discovered this artist and I like his work.  Fresh, playful, balance of fullness and emptiness.  A composite of marks, composed the way a bird makes a nest.   A krazy quilt of random colors that coalesce into painting.  Organic, vital.  Weirdly intentional and accidental at the same time.  On a grey day in Western Washington, I am grateful for these colors.  Check him out: nicholasnyland.net.

The following is from my journal about a half mile “knit-to-the-sea” begun May 2012…The line is still unfinished, awaiting warm spring days for possible completion.

May 23, 2012, 8 – 9 am

Quiet sit.  The rain held off.  G. drove by with a girl.  R. drove by on the way to class.  M. drove by.

Afternoon sit, 3:30 – 4:30 pm

D. mowed the lawn under the bench.  It made my bum vibrate.  J. said hi from down the street.  Another neighbor was also out mowing.  My brain is a blur.  I really, really hope I can finish this project.

May 24, 2012

I’m tired of explaining my project to people!  Dry day.

May 25, 2012

M. played guitar for me accompanied in the distance by a weed-wacker.  Sunny, beautiful day.  I wore a skirt.

Painting by Nicholas Nyland

 

 

2 thoughts on “The In-Between Days

  1. Renee says:

    Love the vulnerability you show in your posts. Having gone to grad school in art, I got SO tired of the “bravado” of many of the artists, kind of almost an aggression used to defend what they were doing. To me, it’s more like Buddhism, Art is a way of behaving in the world in sync with creative effort. Or at least TODAY it is for me! HA

Tell me what you think...

