Net

Sneak preview of “The Fowler’s Snare” (detail)
watercolor by Christen Mattix

May 29, 2012

12:20-1:30 pm knit-to-the-sea at an abandoned bus stop…

A neighbor lady surprised me on her lunch break by coming right over and sitting on the bench with me!  After weeks of barely saying hi.  Like a wild animal tamed.  She said, “It is such a joyful way of connecting the community.”  She and her husband were wondering how much the yarn would cost me total.  I said I didn’t know but I invited her to save me coupons!  She was thrilled to help.  Then off she went.  Another lady with a dog said some encouraging words.  A walking couple stopped to ask about it.  Christo is someone people keep comparing me to.  “How long is it going to take?” one man asked.  I said, “I don’t know.”  The wife said, “It’s meditation–it’s supposed to be relaxing, not stressful!”  I’m surprised by how rarely my cellphone rings during sits.  Very bright out despite the cloud covering.

One thought on “Net

Tell me what you think...

