The Twelfth Man

Spicebush Swallowtail Caterpillar

June 11, 2014 Today was a very busy day for the knitting bench. Candy came by with her 6 adult dogs, two still on leash until they follow her commands. I asked her if she was going to sell some of them but she said they’re her family, and they all sleep in her bed. “I don’t sleep very well sometimes!” You’ve got 6 puppies too, 12 total!” I say, and she says, “Yeah, I call them my 12 pack!”

Harvey stopped by.  He shared with me the idea of the 12th man.  According to the Seahawks football team, the 12th man is their fan base…the energy and excitement of their audience gave them the necessary power to beat the opposing team.  I am not into sports, but I love this picture…

Last night, I dreamt I was trying to squish fat green caterpillars with fake eyes that were devouring my vegetable garden.  They were putting up quite a fight.  Then I realized that they would soon turn into one of my favorite kinds of butterflies, and I immediately stopped stabbing them with my stick.  I googled the caterpillar from my dream today, and found its butterfly name–spicebush swallowtail.  Like my dream, it’s easy to see other people and myself as mere caterpillars, and not recognize our true name, our becoming.  Sometimes our artwork-in-progress looks like an ugly grub, and we would be horrified if someone took a peek at it before it is ready.  It’s time to let go of the superficial judgments and shame, and allow a more expansive and realistic creative process to unfold.  And so, I want to be that 12th Man to my caterpillar friend struggling to become who she is…And I want to thank the 12th Man (and Woman!) in my life–there are so many of you.

Today’s episode of Sesame Street was brought to you by the number 12…

Spicebush Swallowtail. Photo by eyeonnature.wordpress.com

 

Tell me what you think...

