Moral Support

The white Roto-Rooter van drove by several times today with “away go troubles down the drain!” I loved the grins on the driver and passenger’s faces.  Two women drove up, parked and peppered me with questions.  Sisters.  The brunette  sister was visiting from L.A. to give her blond Bellingham sister moral support after a surgery.  I thought, what a great way to turn a negative into a positive.  They were both so upbeat, snapping photos of me knitting.  “This is so Miranda July,” the brunette told me.  I was joined on the bench by Allen who is starting his 6 month and two week program to get in shape before his 3000 mile hike.  He has already ordered 4 pairs of tennis shoes for the trail.  His ukulele was poking out the top of his pack…Confessed to drinking too much beer and eating too many chips with humus in the past few months.  Rubbing his belly, he said,  “After about age 50, a man gives up on his body…afterall, the child-bearing years are over…why bother?”

Stormy…Rain…Change…Fair…Very Dry
The barometer on the wall of Citrus’ house has gone from Change to Fair in the last day, and I have felt my spirits lifting.  I’m willing to go the distance once more.  After all, I can’t fail at this artwork as long as I don’t give up.  It isn’t a demanding project–it requires no skill–just grit.  Show up and do the work.  Unlike a painting or a sculpture whose completion may require incredible problem-solving skills or insight to complete, I just have to knit from A to B.  The shortest distance between two points.

2 thoughts on “Moral Support

  1. Renee says:

    Grit and thought. That’s one of the things I love the most about “long haul” art projects…they offer an opportunity for lots of contemplation, which can never hurt as long as monkey mind doesn’t take over. That’s my challenge.
    Renee

Tell me what you think...

